More dust: (there is something called dust people!)

I have stumbled through this while doing some internet flaneuring (a.k.a procrastinating). A monthly newsletter dedicated only to dust, written by Jay Ownes.

The topics seem really interesting, I plan to take a deep look one I take a break sometime in the foreseeable future I hope: http://tinyletter.com/hautepop/archive. She has argued for the importance and magnificence of dust in a BBC radio 4 “A Speck of Dust“.

I have revisited my dust noted twice this last month. Once after an inspiring visit to the Whitechapel exhibition A Handful of Dust, and the other when I presented in the RGS on the political geography postgraduate sponsored panel on “Fragments fro our research” where Jo sharp, started her commentary by citing Eliot’s the Waste Land. Besides the nice coincidence, the discussion after 6 presentations pushed me to re-discover the amazing affordance of dust thinking in traversing questions – not only of the archive, as I have been doing, but also of thinking through fragmentary writing, and meaning making of research that is attuned to materiality but that is bound also to be “written” , “narrativised”. A speck of dust is – for me- and excellent dot from which to start weaving through and suturing the frustrating distances we see between the stuff of research and the words that captures, contain or set them free.

 

